PDA

View Full Version : Another ebay scam?




BruceWright
11-06-2003, 04:37 PM
Remember the guy who built his own balancing scooter, Trevor Blackwell?

http://www.tlb.org/scooter.html


Well, someone on Ebay is pretending to be him, and selling plans on how to build your own Segway.

quote:Learn how to build your own electric Segway without having to spend a fortune. Self-balancing scooters, like the Segway are often thought to be technological miracles, but it is not actually very hard to build one. I built the one described here
in about a week using off-the-shelf parts. I spent another week tweaking the high-speed stability, improving the steering control, and writing about it. Although the Segway has several exotic components, mine is built from common low-tech
parts like wheelchair motors and RC car batteries. The parts, even at small quantity retail prices, cost less than half of a genuine Segway. It also doesn't need complex or high-performance software! Whether you're an electronic expert or a
fledgling in the field, explore and have fun with this relatively easy project.



He also stole a picture of Trevor, and is saying it's a picture of him.


http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3636345532&category=47351

-Bruce Wright

Segway: Vehicle of Dream




BruceWright
11-06-2003, 04:43 PM
There's another auction on ebay for a website www.jambori.com They say it's a sales outlet for Segways. Sure. I'm sure it just links to Amazon partner pages.

They are trying to sell the domain name and the website, as if it's a business ready to go.

4 pages of html and a domain name, do not a business make!

They just cut and pasted some pictures and text from Segway.com and amazon.com.

What a scam.

-Bruce Wright

Segway: Vehicle of Dream

statmed
11-06-2003, 05:58 PM
quote:Originally posted by BruceWright

Remember the guy who built his own balancing scooter, Trevor Blackwell?
Well, someone on Ebay is pretending to be him, and selling plans on how to build your own Segway.

He also stole a picture of Trevor, and is saying it's a picture of him.



How do you know this is not Trevor? Have you e-mailed him?

May be he's trying to recoup some of the cost of his imitation segway with his 15 minutes of fame




H.M. Stern
statmed@optonline.net

I Love It When A Plan Comes Together (Hannibal Smith)

ElectraGlide
11-06-2003, 06:03 PM
I saw it yesterday, and was quite amused. And , the usual "i" series seller with the photo of the box and zero feedbacks is gone today.

Steve

BruceWright
11-06-2003, 06:14 PM
I don't think that Trevor Blackwell of Mountain View California would have an ebay id as Luke Burnam of Boulder Colorado.


Plus, he'd get sued.

-Bruce Wright

Segway: Vehicle of Dream

segwayowner
11-06-2003, 10:30 PM
maybe trevor sold the "rights" to it to the seller.....
i still think its a scam..... anyway he doesnt talk about what he will be delievering..


DES: Segway owner