View Full Version : Dealers and Friends of Dealers... is THIS legit?
Eric Payne
06-01-2007, 07:33 PM
I tend to check out e-bay every couple of days for Segway, and found this last night: http://cgi.ebay.com/Independent-Distributor-of-Segway-X2-Golf-Transporter_W0QQitemZ120127128671QQihZ002QQcategor yZ11764QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
For the dealers amongst us, and the friends of dealers amongst us, is what this seller saying legitimate? In the e-bay ad copy, it says:
"If you would like to become an independent contractor for 2-Under it requires and initial investment of $6,175. For that investment you will receive your very own Segway X2 golf unit, access to marketing materials, rights to sell X2's to golf courses and earn 50% commissions on the margin of each unit you sell.
On the seller's personal website (www.2-Under.com) they claim to be the "exclusive" authorized agent for sales of Segway to golf courses, nationwide, and the purchase of a X-2 with golf package enables/entitles the purchaser to be the "exclusive" salespersons to golf courses in their area.
Is this something (sure sounds like a MLM scam to me) with which INC should be made aware?
Or - as I recently found out from my friend who is a dealer - has INC done with the "golfer" what they did with X2s and "police packages"?
Eric Payne
Glendale, AZ
Desert_Seg
06-02-2007, 02:38 AM
Eric,
This is the third time I've heard of this company. Can't confirm if they are real or not but based on the website my guess is they do have a contract with Inc.
One correction. They don't say they are the "exclusive authorized agent for sales of Segway to golf courses." they say they are an "authorized distributor exclusively for golf courses"
One (the former) means they are the only people who can sell to golf courses.
The other (the latter) means that they are only allowed to sell to golf courses.
Cute how they came up with a way around the limitation of their contract.
Steven
SegwayDan
06-02-2007, 04:09 AM
It looks to me like there may be advantages to distributing g2s through this company. Their concentration is on golf which may offer leads, marketing, and advertising. They may have more purchasing clout with Inc if they can order in large quantities.
You buy a g2 which you'll need anyway as a demo unit, and you make 50% of margin.
That may sound to some like a workable arrangement or alternative to buying a conventional dealership.
Eric Payne
06-02-2007, 10:59 AM
... One correction. They don't say they are the "exclusive authorized agent for sales of Segway to golf courses." they say they are an "authorized distributor exclusively for golf courses"
One (the former) means they are the only people who can sell to golf courses.
The other (the latter) means that they are only allowed to sell to golf courses.
Cute how they came up with a way around the limitation of their contract.
Actually, what their website says is:
Welcome to 2-Under
The Exclusive Distributor of Segway Products to the Golf Industry
Sure seems to me they're claiming exclusivity on G2.
Eric Payne
Glendale, AZ
wwhopper
06-02-2007, 11:44 AM
You buy my product at MSRP, and then sell my product for me and I give you a 50% commission on the margin of each unit you sell.
My Question would be.... Where is the line to sign up for the incredable opportunity? What is the margin? Would be my next question, 50% of nothing is not a whole lot.
At the Annapolis dealership, when one of our customers sells a machine for us, we take good care of them.
A satisfied customer is your best salesperson. It is always fun to see a customer bring in a friend in to try a Segway and then they buy one!
Funny thing is that now the Police Departments are doing that. Nothing worse than pulling into the shop for a day of Segway work and you can't find a place to park because the lot is filled with police cars.... The neighbors find that a bit odd too, then they see the officers come out gliding on Segways! Never a dull moment in the world of Segways!
Desert_Seg
06-02-2007, 12:02 PM
Your right...front page, missed that. Their About Us page uses slightly different verbiage. However, they have ads posted across the internet that says exactly what you posted.
I can confirm that they are NOT the exclusive distributor to the Golf Industry. I've already written corporate and asked them to have them re-word their ads and web site.
BTW, from my perspective, their offer isn't a great deal as I'm sure the IC isn't being paid on the margin between 2-Under's buy price and the final sell price. Also, their contract is very weak for the IC....they can appoint as many folks in each territory that they want, don't have any warranty support requirements for the units they sell (remember, YOU sold them), can terminate you at any time, AND the IC cannot sell Segways for two years after their contract is ended.
Steven
DarthSegVator
06-02-2007, 02:02 PM
They are an industry specific "authorized reseller".
safety1st
06-02-2007, 02:03 PM
. Also, their contract is very weak for the IC....they can appoint as many folks in each territory that they want, don't have any warranty support requirements for the units they sell (remember, YOU sold them),
Steven
Steven
2-under is the company that prompted me to start the thread concerning warranty work a few weeks back. If you recall many of my comments were about the independent reps selling in a dealers area and then wanting the dealer to do the warranty because 2-under was not providing anything but sales.
2-under has been around for several months and have had reps come and go without much success. In the beginning they GAVE you a demo but that didn't work, so now they make you buy one up front, so if you never sell another one they have at least sold one.
They sold two here in our area in about 3 months and then rep quit. So who do you think they call for service?
Yes it is sort of like a MLM, with one exception the margins are so low it doesn't work.
David Ford
Desert_Seg
06-02-2007, 02:06 PM
David,
I thought it might have been the company you had referred to earlier. I'm amazed at their audacity and that there are folks who believe they can actually make money on this deal.
Oh well, Caveat Emptor!
Steven
wwhopper
06-02-2007, 03:57 PM
David,
I thought it might have been the company you had referred to earlier. I'm amazed at their audacity and that there are folks who believe they can actually make money on this deal.
Oh well, Caveat Emptor!
Steven
For that great one of a kind business opportunity, with only a $6K investment, you can make money in your spare time.
And as they say, there would be no spam, if people did not believe this stuff and sign up for it....
So it must work...
Just not the best way to promote anything. Next thing, Amway will be selling segs in China!
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.